Birthday

So today is my birthday…

I’m not really sure what I was expecting the day to turn out like. It started out with me in my bed on my phone yesterday and when the clock finally read 12:00, I got super excited. I mean it’s my birthday- I have a right to be happy.

Overall, a pretty great day. New sweater in my favourite colour, mint/teal/blueygreen (whatever you want to call it). Birthday lunch and dinner. A day at the spa: massage and a facial.

So my spa day was great. I had to walk there though and it was so freaking hot. The minute I stepped out the door, I started sweating. But I did make it to the spa and it was nice and air conditioned. I filled out a quick questionnaire then heading upstairs for my massage. My massage was great, relaxing, a tad awkward at first because I wasn’t sure what to expect. Felt a bit self-conscious about my body but it was super relaxing and I’m glad I decided to do it.

Then came my facial. And it turned out to be more heavenly than the massage but also more painful. Confused? Let me explain.

She cleansed and moisturized my face. Then did a mild peel – note she said mild- and said I might feel a slight tingle. OMG I felt like she was putting flesh-eating bugs on my face for a feast. I kid you not, I didn’t think I was going to make it through without rubbing it off my face. But I thankfully survived and then she started doing extractions for my acne. OMG that was painful too. The squeezing and the stabbing made my eyes water and I tried to put up a brave face but those stupid tears. Stupid low pain tolerance. Great so I’m a freaking baby now but now come the relaxing mask and I get to just lie there for a bit.

In the end, all the pain and awkwardness was worth it because my face is soft like a baby’s bottom. It feels so lovely and I feel extremely tempted to go back… maybe just for the mask when I need it. She put some lotion and lovely unknown substances on my face and hoped that I could sleep with it on but I had volleyball practice.. Damn volleyball. Stop taking over my life.

Life Lesson #5: No pain, no gain.

 

– simplykarenn

Note to self: Facials: maximum 2 a year – spring/summer, fall/winter

 

 

Leave a comment